Restricted Breeds and Dangerous Dogs

There are five breeds of dogs that are subject to important restrictions by the Federal Government and they are:

  • Pitt Bull Terriers
  • American Pitt Bull Terriers
  • Argentinian Fighting Dogs (dogo Argentino)
  • Brazilian Fighting Dogs (fila Brasileiro)
  • Japanese Tosas

A dangerous dog is one that attacks or kills a person or other animal without being provoked. The Act allows a Local Council or Court to declare a dog dangerous. Dangerous dogs must be:

  • Controlled by an adult over 18 years of age
  • Kept in child-proof enclosures
  • Display an official dangerous dog warning sign
  • Leashed and muzzled in public
  • Desexed

What can Council do about Dangerous Dogs?

Council can declare a dog to be dangerous if the Council is satisfied that the dog is dangerous. Once a dog is declared dangerous the owner must comply with the very strict requirements listed above. Failure to comply with a declaration may result in the dog being seized, fines and/or summons to court. To be satisfied a dog is dangerous any attack must be reported to Council as soon as possible so that it may be investigated. Delays in reporting incidents adversely impacts on the ability to investigate the attack. A reported attack will not necessarily result in a dog being declared dangerous, as it will depend on the circumstances of the case.

Hunting dogs may also be declared dangerous if they are not being kept in an appropriate manner.